Paul Lairat | Manufacture
16190
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-16190,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-11.1,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1,vc_responsive

Making

Gabriella’s production in 12 steps

Stega’s production in 12 steps

Workshop

The stringed instrument workshop opened its doors in 2000.

Many different essence of woods such as wengé, mahogany, ebony, maple… are all stored and dried during at least five years before being used in the making process of a guitar or a bass.

Are also carefully stored unusual veneers as burl of myrte, of madrona, of Amboina … which will be used in the making of instrument’s top.

In order to work with accuracy, wood machine tools are used to help the manual work of the stringed instrument maker:
The circular saw, the planning machine and the thicknesser will allow to cut adjust and set thickness of wood parts.
The scroll saw will make at a later time the outline of the instrument.
The router will be used for moulding…

This is how each Paul Lairat’ s bass and guitar are created.

Story

Everything began when Paul started learning music with his father’s old acoustic guitar, Henri Lairat. Very soon, Paul wanted to make this guitar look more modern and to his liking and this lead him to instinctively make his first custom instrument in the small family garage.

This is how Paul felt that he wanted to be involved in the making and creation of instruments, which pushed the future stringed instrument maker to realise his first electric guitar (the “Sanoa“, which was first named the “PL1”).

His training and experience as a cabinetmaker and the making of “Provençaux” instruments helped him achieve his goal…

The first “Paul Lairat” guitar was born. It was a great satisfaction both in terms of aesthetic and acoustic, but the imagination of the stringed instrument maker was only starting and his constant research to conceive more precise and aesthetically nicer design lead him to where he is now. During three years, he spent his time to create six confidential guitars and basses. This is how in 2000 Paul showed his own range of instruments “Paul Lairat” at the International Musique Festival of Paris (France).

Most musicians felt a strong interest in his work, but that was not enough for the stringed instrument maker who wanted to provide the musicians with the “Unique” guitar or bass available in the market.

It is in 2004 that Paul realised his wish in making the “Stega bass“, an unprecedented model , which revolutionised the world of Basses through its futuristic aesthetic, its ergonomic, while keeping polyvalence in the sound, strong, dynamic, rich in harmonic and extremely precise.

The positive feedback of this bass from musicians, and amateurs of music instruments, and his desire to share his passion, pushed him to attend and participate at one of the world most recognised fair “The Musikmesse of Frankfurt”(Germany).

It is in this dynamic that in 2006 a new model of bass, the “Gabriella“, was released: a hollow body bass fretless which offers a very close sound to a double bass. Paul Lairat obtained, by the US magazine “Bass Gear“, the award of “The Best Stringed Instrument Maker” for the conception of the “Gabriella” and the “Stega” basses model.

This reward drove Paul Lairat look forward, and he then went farther, taking part to the famous and mythic temple of Music, the “Namm Show” in Los Angeles, to continue promoting his basses and guitars worldwide.

In 2012, a new bass model was specially created for the “Namm Show” the “Syria“.

Among all basses in competition, the “Syria” was awarded “the most votes from internet users” from the American website of the magazine “Premier Guitar“.

This is how all started in 1994…

I would love to thank you all and let you know that this is only the beginning of a great journey that I am pleased to share with you. I am very glad that my first guitar, which was born in a narrow garage in a small village, has opened me the door to a route enriched with musical encounters and friendships. Today, I am proud that my instruments are internationally recognised for their aesthetic, quality, acoustic and their craftsmanship reflecting you the treatment I provide them and the passion that makes me live.

Paul Lairat

Newsletter

Subscribe in order to receive all our news and updates
Click here

Contact us

For your demands and (or) commands
contact@lairat.com

Paul Lairat | Manufacture
14978
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-14978,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-11.1,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1,vc_responsive

La fabrication

L’atelier

L’atelier de lutherie a ouvert ses portes en 2000.

De nombreuses essences de bois tels que le wengé, l’acajou, l’ébène, l’érable… sont stockées et séchées pendant cinq années au minimum, avant d’entrer dans la fabrication des différentes parties d’une guitare ou d’une basse.

Sont aussi soigneusement entreposés de rares placages de loupe de myrthe, de madrona, d’amboine… qui serviront à la réalisation des tables d’instrument.

Pour travailler avec précision, des machines à bois soutiennent le travail manuel du luthier :
La scie circulaire, la dégauchisseuse et la raboteuse vont permettre de débiter et d’effectuer les mises en épaisseur.
La scie à ruban chantournera le bois, ce qui donnera plus tard le contour de l’instrument.
La toupie permettra de faire des moulures…

C’est ainsi que naît chaque Guitare et Basse « Paul Lairat ».

L’histoire

Tout à commencé quand Paul apprit à jouer de la vieille guitare acoustique de son père, Henri Lairat. Très vite le souhait de la rendre plus moderne et à son goût le poussa ‘instinctivement’ à réaliser sa première customisation d’instrument dans le petit garage familial.

 

Ainsi démarra l’envie d’en faire plus dans la conception de l’instrument, ce qui amena très rapidement le futur luthier à fabriquer sa première guitare électrique ( la guitare Sanoa qui au début de l’histoire s’appelait la PL1).

 

Son apprentissage et expérience en tant qu’ébéniste ainsi que dans la fabrication d’instruments provençaux lui ont facilité la tâche…

 

La première guitare « Paul Lairat » était née ! Ce fut une grande satisfaction esthétique et acoustique, mais l’imagination du luthier ne faisait que commencer et sa recherche constante pour concevoir des instruments encore plus précis et d’une finition irréprochable le guida vers une voie toute tracée : Pendant trois ans, il se consacra à la création confidentielle de six modèles de guitares et basses. C’est ainsi qu’en 2000, il présenta sa propre gamme d’instruments « Paul Lairat » au salon de la Musique de Paris.

 

Les instruments connurent un vif intérêt auprès des musiciens, mais pas assez aux yeux du luthier qui voulait se démarquer encore plus et offrir aux musiciens la basse ou la guitare unique en son genre.

C’est donc en 2004 que Paul concrétisa son souhait en réalisant la basse Stega, un modèle hors du commun, qui révolutionna le monde de la basse, par son esthétisme futuriste et son ergonomie, tout en gardant un son d’une grande polyvalence, puissant, dynamique, riche en harmonique et très précis.

 

L’impact positif de cette basse auprès des musiciens et amateurs d’instruments et son désir de faire partager sa passion, poussèrent Paul à participer au plus grand salon mondial de la musique, le Musikmesse de Francfort. Continuant sur cette lancée, naquit en 2006 le nouveau modèle de basse, la Gabriella : Une basse fretless demi-caisse qui offre un son très proche de celui d’une contrebasse. Ce modèle fut récompensé en 2009 avec la basse Stega par l’Award du Meilleur Luthier, Award décerné par le magasine Américain Bass Gear.

 

Cette récompense amena le luthier à voir encore plus loin et à se rendre dans ce lieu mythique de la musique : Los Angeles, pour participer au fameux Namm Show et continuer ainsi à promouvoir ses guitares et ses basses à l’étranger.

 

En 2012, Paul lança un nouveau modèle de basse pour le Namm Show, la Sirya.

 

De tous les instruments présentés au Namm Show elle remporta le plus grand nombre de votes sur le site web du magasine Américain Premier Guitar.

Voilà comment tout a commencé en 1994…

Je souhaite vous remercier et vous dire que ceci n'est que le commencement d'une grande aventure que j’ai plaisir à vous faire partager. Je suis très heureux que ma première guitare, née dans le garage étroit d’un petit village m’ait ouvert une porte me conduisant vers un parcours enrichi de rencontres musicales et amicales. Aujourd’hui, je suis ravi que mes instruments soient reconnus internationalement pour leur qualité esthétique, acoustique et leur finition irréprochable reflétant ainsi tout le soin que je leur apporte et la passion qui m'anime.

Paul Lairat

Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous afin de recevoir toutes nos actualités

Contactez-nous

Pour toute demande et (ou) prise de rendez-vous
contact@lairat.com

Accueil – Manufacture – Guitares – Basses – Artistes – Contact – Mentions légales